01 Apr We are the (Division 2) champions!

Athletics Chilwell is the champion club in Division 2 of Athletics Victoria’s AVSL competition, and will rejoin the premier Division 1 competition next season.

The club put in a dominant performance at the season-ending AVSL Playoffs at Lakeside Stadium, with a team of 25 athletes scoring nearly 17,000 points over the full-day event. Athletics Chilwell was set for a head-to-head battle with Bendigo club Eaglehawk for Division 2 supremacy, but the Eaglehawk club failed to attend the showdown, handing Chilwell the easiest of victories.

After being relegated from Division 1 in 2019-20, the inaugural season of AVSL multi-table competition, Athletics Chilwell sat atop the Division 2 ladder throughout the 2020-21 season, handing the club one of two guaranteed promotion slots back to Division 1 for next season. Athletics Chilwell will be joined in Division 1 by Eaglehawk (2nd) and Collingwood (3rd), the latter after winning a promotion-relegation battle with Western Athletics.

In intermittently wet conditions, Chilwell athletes competed widely across the scheduled events and notable performances came from Owen Costin (2nd overall and 1st U18, 2000m Walk); Emma Peters (1st, Open discus), Noah Burns (1st, U18 pole vault), Cassidy Bradshaw (1st, U18 pole vault), Ryan Costin and Jack Ellis (2nd and 3rd overall/U16, 2000m Steeple); Liam Mullen (1st, U20 Long Jump), D’Artagnan Reed-Broekman (3rd, U18 Long Jump), the men’s U18 4x200m relay (1st U18 – Luke Fraser, Seth McCleish, Drummond Paine, Billy Griffin), and the women’s open 4x200m relay (3rd – Bree McLennan, Emma Peters, Anna-Marie Petrovic, Dakoda Smith).

Congratulations to all Athletics Chilwell athletes who competed over the course of the AVSL 2020-21 season and scored points, and good luck to all athletes travelling to the National Track and Field Championships in Sydney (April 12-19).

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.